Show Menu
TOPICS×

Paused and Deleted Segments

Describes the effects on segmented users, data, and destinations when you pause or delete an active segment using Segment Builder.

Access to the Pause and Delete Controls

Hover over a segment name in the segments list to expose the pause and delete icons (in the Actions column). These features affect segments as described below.

Paused Segment Functionality

A paused (deactivated) segment:
  • Stops segmenting new, qualified users.
  • Retains a user's segmentation status/membership (does not remove a user from the segment).
  • Remains in the segment list and can be reactivated.
  • Does not send data to associated destinations.
  • Returns data in the available reports (up to the deactivation date).

Deleted Segment Functionality

A deleted segment:
  • Stops segmenting new, qualified users.
  • Removes qualified users from segment membership.
  • Is removed from the segment list.
  • Cannot be undeleted.
  • Does not send data to associated destinations.
  • Does not return data in the available reports.
You can also pause and delete segments using an API method. For more information, see REST APIs .