Show Menu
TOPICS×

Publishing Workflows

Create and manage multi-level publishing workflows (edit, delete, and duplicate). Publishing workflows let you assign and complete multi-level approval processes.
A publishing workflow is a process you set up to specify how posts must be approved before they can be posted on their assigned social platforms (owned Facebook pages, Twitter accounts, Google+ pages, and so forth).
You can create different approval levels and then assign individual user groups or users to each level. Ideally, you should assign a user group to a publishing workflow rather than to an individual user, who can slow your approval process. If you assign a user group to a workflow, one member of that user group must approve the post in order for that approval requirement to be met. You can also specify a user group or individual user to override the publishing-workflow settings.
You can assign publishing workflows at the individual property level (individual Facebook page or Twitter account, for example) or at the account level (all new social properties added to the account use a default approval workflow).
You can create the following types of workflows:
  • Horizontal Publishing Workflow: User Group/User A, and User Group/User B, and User Group/User C must approve the post, in any order.
  • Vertical Publishing Workflow: User Group/User A, then User Group/User B, and then User Group/User C must approve the post, in that specific order.
  • Combination Publishing Workflow: Combines elements of a horizontal and vertical publishing workflow by creating multiple approval levels. For example, level one might contain a horizontal hierarchy in which an individual member in each of three user groups must approve the post, in any order. The second level might contain a single user who then must approve the post after the first level is completed.
Suppose, for example, that you want multiple teams in your organization to approve a post before it is placed in the publishing queue. For example, after a member of your social team has created and scheduled a post, you want one member of your creative, legal, and public relations teams to approve the post, in no particular order. This is an example of a horizontal workflow.
A similar vertical workflow could be created in which a member of your creative team must approve the post, followed by a member of your legal team, followed by a member of your public relations team.
You could also create a combination workflow in which the post must first be approved by a member of your creative team, legal team, and public relations team (in no particular order), followed by a member of your executive team.
If a user is included in a publishing workflow (either explicitly or as a member of a user group), that user is automatically given the appropriate Approval permissions. The Approve All/Owned permission has been deprecated. Approval permissions are automatically granted based on assigned publishing workflows.
If a member of a user group is assigned to a publishing workflow (either explicitly or as a member of a user group), that user receives an email notification when a post is actionable for his or her approval level.
Note that if a post is edited in any way (photo or link added, targeting changed, etc.) during the approval process, the workflow restarts. That is, any levels that have been completed, must be re-approved.
You can also filter the Content Calendar by Pending Approvals to display only posts that require approval before they can be posted. You can filter by user group or individual user. You can also filter by your user name to display only posts that you have been designated in an approval process.
The Notes section for each post can be used as an audit trail to see who has approved that post, along with a timestamp.
Any existing approval conditions you specified in previous versions of Social are migrated and honored going forward. You can determine whether an approval condition is a migrated workflow by looking at the Created By column. If this field is empty, this workflow has been migrated. Migrated workflow names are populated with the name of the property for which the approval conditions were made.